Sheridan Blue Streak

20 cal


Add New Reviews | Rifle Review Index | Email Admin | Go Back
 

Average Thumbs



Highly Recommended
 
By: David Date: November 30, 2012
Rating:

I got mine for Christmas in the 70's. We would shoot wooden match sicks at 50 ft. Dead on accuracy. In the 90's, sent it to Sheridan for a refurbish. Still, dead on. Today, I ocasionally drop a bit of oil in it to keep the piston lubed. I think the original piston may have been leather.

Regardless.. I don't mind pumping, and it's a bit loud but, I hit where I aime. My classic will be handed down.


32 out of 63 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Evert Date: September 28, 2012
Rating:

Had my blue streak since the 1970's. Best air rifle I ever had. Knocks the stuffing out of the 760's power. Sat if my dads barn, unconditioned in Indinapolis, IN climate for 15 years only used during the summer, but had not been used for about 5 years at all. Got it back last fall and works like new. Don't know about the ones available today, but mine is a keeper.


35 out of 63 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Larry Date: August 17, 2012
Rating:

Well, What else can I say if you owned one you would know 20 cal Sheridan is the best. Sumpin about that ol 20 cal. I moved to it from my old 760 at the age of 14 my gun costing 54.95 in 1979 and me only being able to pump it 6 times for the first week; till I could pump it 8. I never looked back don't even know what happed to the old 760. I do know were my sheridan is:) lol and loving it still. By the way I still have a nice set of pecks even at 46.



Thank you, Sheridan










38 out of 86 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Ratgetter Date: April 11, 2012
Rating:

If you see a older Blue Streak BUY IT ! if you like accuracy to the max! I have one that has not been shot in 7 years. Didn't pump....4 drops of oil down that little hole and SHE IS ALIVE ! ! ! Shoots about 698FPS without any trouble. For me at 65 this rifle is great exercise !! I will shoot it all afternoon...and sleep well at night. I have only open stock sights on it and even being half blind can shoot 1/2" (dime size) rested at 30 yards. Yes this rifle is a keeper for sure. I will pass it on to my grandson when I am through with it!! Very well built, real wood stock and will never rust!...even here in Hawaii ! ! !


42 out of 84 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Russ Date: January 16, 2012
Rating:

Have had my blue c from new for 24 years. Recently got it back from my dad who used it in his barn for sparrows and pigeons, it still holds an 80% charge over night! I wanted to go long range so I fixed a tang sight to a drilled intermount and left the front sight alone. Magic happened. I can place Benjamin rounds with 7 pumps off bench into an 8.5 x 11 sheet of paper in no wind at 100 yards all day. It took some dialing in but, I learned a lot about the ballistics of original Sheridan, Beeman Crow HP and Benjamin pellets. The simple engineering and quality of materials in this pneumatic in my book makes it a show stopper for the original purchase price. Don't let just anyone work on or play with it. Keep it clean and respect the house.


57 out of 98 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: cvarcher Date: March 12, 2011
Rating:

Anyone seriously into airguns must own an early model C streak. Ive had one since I was 11 and now 46 years later own several.For the moey you get a real walnut stock,bronze barrel and pump tube (rustproof), 37 inches long at 5.7lbs with a powerful punch nearing pcp power. I have shot under an inch groups at 50 yds scoped. If you set the intermount correct it will not move at all.I can pump mine scoped in the driver seat of my car.Built to last for decades it is the best airrifle in my honest opinion for the money. The only one better is the Sharp Ace Hunter 22cal of which I own that one but its 5 times the cost and a heavier gun with not as much support in parts.


61 out of 118 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Dale Johnson Date: June 15, 2010
Rating:

Had my blue streak since mid 70s. Currently wears a red dot scope which stays zero'd nicely. Only shoot birds and paper with the .20 sheridan ammo. Rifle is extremely accurate. Out to 20 yds I only shoot 4 pumps, penetrates completely through starlings. My chrony gives495 fps at 4 pumps. Dont think I,ve ever put more than 7 pumps in it. My neighbor has a new benjamin sheridan that does'nt hold a candle to my old blue streak. Downside: the sheridan scope mount sets the red dot or scope too high, Think I may put my williams aperature sight back on her.IMO. If you can find an older clean pre-benjamin blue streek, jump on it.


78 out of 157 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Rick Date: October 26, 2009
Rating:

I got my Blue Streak back in 1970. I was just 18 then. It seems to me the price was 40 dollars, not much you can get for that now! It has taken crows, coons and it's fair share of other game. It sat idle for some years till i got it out the other day and decided to send it away for be rebuilt. I can't wait to get it back. It still shot but i think some of the punch was gone. I still think it is one of the finest airguns ever made.


87 out of 166 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Doug R. Date: October 19, 2007
Rating:

Bought my Blue Streak new in 1987. Since then it has taught two kids to handle and shoot guns, taken probably 20 racoons that were preying on our chickens (heads shots at less than 20 yards with CroMagnum pellets), and provided hours of fun on paper targets. Accuracy is excellent. Sights are a little crude and difficult to adjust for windage, but once set hold their settings well.



I bought the scope mount and a 4x scope for it, but removed it after a bit. The mount seemed delcate and I never really trusted the zero if the rifle got knocked about a little, and at the short ranges I was using the gun at there seemed little advantage to it.



The repeated pumping gets old during a prolonged target session, but will develop the pecs and deltoids :)



After 20 years (the last few virtually unused) it's ready for a rebuild (difficulty capturing air), but this may fix itself with a cleaning and lube and some use.



All in all I consider this one of the better buys I have made. Excellent hunting and plinking gun.


86 out of 168 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Justin Date: August 23, 2007
Rating:

Have had my Streak for several years. Mine is one of the previous generation that is a bit nicer looking than the current Crosman-owned production models sporting a decent walnut stock and steel trigger guard. It has been very reliable and is an accurate and hard-hitting pneumatic airgun. I would like to mount a scope on her but the design does not lend itself well to optics, therefore, I have the Williams receiver sight which is actually quite good and a big improvement over the factory open sights. It is just that these are such nice shooters I would really like to scope it to fully take advangage of its accuracy and ranging capabilities.

The Blue Streak is a very good field gun being relatively light weight and compact especially in light of the high power level it offers. The Streak is not so light weight however that it is an impediment to accurate shooting. I have hammered several squirrels, a few crows, some rabbits, an aggressive feral cat, and countless starlings and sparrows with this gun. The 14.3 gr Crosman domed pellet works well on these species and the heavy slug seems to maintain its accuracy well over distance in turbulent air. The trajectory is not as flat as some of the lighter pellets however. The Beeman Crow Magnum is a mid-weight pellet and is an awesome performer in the field. This hollow pt projectile will stop rabbits decisively with chest shots and does not exit. For the heavily-feathered crow which usually must be taken at some distance due to their wary nature and excellent vision,or if dispatching large varmints like coon or woodchuck I tend to prefer the previously mentioned Crosman domed pellet because it offers excellent penetration if something other than the preferred head shot must be taken.

In summary, Sheridans are very nice, efficient tools built to last for decades if given reasonable care. They are a gun that can be passed down to and enjoyed by ones own children. The Sheridan offers alot of gun for the money and I would recommend them to anyone who enjoys field use of an airgun.


96 out of 194 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Joe E. Date: August 19, 2007
Rating:

This gun is just soo powerful. I shoot birds and small game with it. This gun just has such a nice stock, and I love the wood finish. It is also very powerful and accurate. My overall impression on this gun...AWESOME!!


91 out of 176 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Tom Date: August 11, 2007
Rating:

Loved the gun. Down side is the scope mount. As it clamps on the barrel, it comes loose quickly. It shoots like a charm with the scope, but then will get off the mark. A great gun without the scope, but would even be a better gun if they had a better scope mount.


86 out of 171 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Fred S. Date: June 21, 2007
Rating:

I've had my Sheridan since the Xmas of 1959....so it has now achieved antique status. Despite its age, it still shoots one hole goups at 10 meters. With 8 pumps,there is some serious punch remaining. Sheridan used to advertise that it was capable of penetrating 1" in soft pine. I took great pleasure in demonstrating this many times to my school pals. Three pumps are all that is needed for target shooting. Although there is nothing sophisticated about the trigger mechanism, the pull-weight is just about right and has a crisp let-off. As with most pneumatics, it is very compact at 36 " and light in weight. This is in contrast with the large heavy springers which may go 45" and 8 lbs. My Sheridan has been 100% trouble free through-out its life.



The downside is very rudamentary rear sight and the difficulty in finding 5mm ammo. Despite this, I believe that the Sheridam model C is the aristocrat of pumpers. It is regrettable that this fine airgun is no longer made.


115 out of 204 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Steve Date: April 4, 2007
Rating:

I have 15 Blue & Silver Steaks. I like my earlier ones pre-1980 best but I don't believe a better air rifle has ever been made.


101 out of 195 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Abel Date: December 18, 2006
Rating:

Very good rifle, excellent accuracy, and good deathblow power for hunting rabbits, birds and varmits with open sight. The only bad thing about it is the mouting style, no good enough in my opinion, by pumping it the mouting is affected and the sighting is offset quickly. Hope this review is useful for all.



98 out of 194 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: B-Rad Date: February 16, 2006
Rating:

Ive owned this gun for like 20 years its the model C. It shoot hard and long, tin cans at 150 yards watch out. Ive had several offers on mine to buy it but i like the gun so much im not sure i will part with it. A springer action gun has always interested me one cock and thats it but after eight pumps with mine its dead on accuarate.


124 out of 239 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


 Add New Reviews| Rifle Review Index | Email Admin | Go Back
 


Airgun Reviews, Airguns, BB Guns, Pellet guns, Air rifles, Crosman 2240, Crosman 2250, Crosman 160, Crosman 1322, Gamo, Walther, Webley, Scott Air Arms, Beretta, Daisy, Benjamin Marauder, 10 Meter target. Crosman
Copyright 2005- 2012 Airgunsmith All rights reserved.