Chinese Industry B3

177cal 560 fps(Cummins Tools) 177cal


Add New Reviews | Rifle Review Index | Email Admin | Go Back
 

Average Thumbs



Highly Recommended
 
By: spot Date: January 19, 2013
Rating:

I bought this air gun at a pawn shop for $7. It looked like a turd but with a little cleaning it looks pretty good and shoots great I think I'm going to buy a rebuild kit for it.


46 out of 90 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: steve B3-1 .22 Date: August 4, 2012
Rating:

This gun is Deadly Accurate, and I was amazed at the power. I kept telling my wife that they must have sent the wrong gun to me because I couldn't imagine getting the power and accuracy for such a steal. I took the gun outside and dropped a possum with it one shot. I sleep with this gun. Of course it was made in china so the front sight was leaning way to the left, and the rear sight was leaning too far to the right. But that's fixed now without a scope too. Because the grooves for the scope are just for show as they are too shallow to fit anything on. I still love this gun and its simple look, plus mine's 22 cal and it does the job better than well.


67 out of 125 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Eamon Date: February 22, 2011
Rating:

I've had this for a few years, but I didn't know what it was called until today when I decided to do a little research. It's very powerful, and very accurate. It's a good plinker, and it also serves well for hunting small game. My only complaint is that after 6 shots or so, the rear sight gets knocked out of alignment by the recoil, but it's easy to put back in place and the zero doesn't seem to be affected.


95 out of 200 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Karl Steffens Date: January 17, 2011
Rating:

This Air Rifle is a classic, it's great fun to shoot and don't break the budjet. I've got a .22 version, which hits like a hammer. Because this Gun was so cheap, it doesn't bother me if it gets knocked about or wet. I just dry it with a rag and then I put it on a heater. If my Weihrauch HW 80 got wet, I think that I would cry for a week. This Airgun is realy good value for Money and I can recommend it to anybody that does'nt want to spend a fortune on an Air Rifle.


118 out of 227 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: 3big Date: January 17, 2010
Rating:

I have tuned 12 air rifles and this my first b3.Ive oreded my from cummuns tools for 25. what i received was a b3 in GOOD shape and a triger safty and a anti bever devise all of these are on the lastest modles of b3.

I measured the volicty at 540fps as it comes from cumins tools. accucitly is good at 1 inch t 10yards.

The reson my gun shot so softly and inaccuratly was its has bad anti rust grease they pack the gun in for shuping.

I then removed anti rust grease with a bath of paint tinner and a smaller scrubt brush and i moly slick 50 cheap lubed the parts and 700fps. accurily is much with out packing grease .50 at 10 yards

AT THIS POINT THIS GUNSHOT BETTER THE ANY OF my tuned expensive break barrels.

I just recived my south summint g2 ir got a bigger sping .it was 8 bucks.I was timed to Tune it and let the fun beginner. so it took it aprat and cleaned the metal shavings keeped at use 3 1/2 inch washers platic. to add more spring load. I cleaned and polushed the trigger.

Know the gun shoot at 840 fps. And at 1/4 at10 yard, CAN U SAVE BAT OUT OF HELL ANd MOST ACCUATE GUN I HAVE EVER USED.

ive had a total of 35 dollars into gun. THIS IS THE CHEAPEST GUN most accurute gun ive ever seen. EASY TO TAKE APART and tune ive got this thing aprt in 30 minutes.

Ive love so much ive oreded a and goned all out as it will be my outerdoor shooter.

BEST AND AIR RIFLE I OWN AT a CHEAP 25 dollers,


186 out of 348 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: PinkMist Date: December 31, 2008
Rating:

I love this rifle. I tell all my friends that it shoot's where you point. Deadly accurate!! And when you tune it and upgrade the spring, Look Out Jack.


189 out of 374 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Jeff Boudreau Date: December 25, 2008
Rating:

I own three of these. They are a bit rough out of the box but, with some extra work on the trigger, mainspring upgrade, and a lube tune, they are quite surprising for their price (24.99 as of 12/08).

B-3 #1, I left as it came in the box to use as a control group. It cronys @ 490 - 530 fps and shoots 1" groups at 10 yrds.

B-3 #2, I did a complete rebuild, chamber hone and polish, a QF-2 spring replacement and end polish, trigger hone, and a piston debur and polish. The leather seal was kept original however, I soaked it clean with solvent, then worked lanolin into the leather and lubed it with dry graphite. The spring, it's guides and trigger sear surfaces were lubed with moly paste. I found that the rear sight was welded crooked on to the receiver. It had to be removed and replaced from 16" to 26" on the receiver. It cronys in the low to mid 800 fps range and shoots a ragged 1/4" hole at 10 yrds.

B-3 #3, I did the same as #2, but used the synthetic seal that came with the QF-2 kit. I used dielectric silicone to lube the seal and compression cylinder. During break-in, it made a slide whistle sound upon cocking that made my fellow shooters guffaw with laughter untill the crony results showed an average of 725 fps which is still climbing as the rifle breaks in. It shoots groups at 3/8" at 10 yrds.

I have tried many different pellet types with my B-3s and all three shoot best with a pellet weight of @ 8.2-8.6 grains using a domed design shape.

If you have a background in a little metalworking and like to tinker, they can be turned into real "tackdrivers". Info on how to tune the B-3 can be found on the WWW at many different sources so have fun...


190 out of 368 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: John Date: December 21, 2007
Rating:

I got one after reading all the opinions on here and around the web. I figured, for $20 bucks how can I lose?

Opened the box and saw what looks like a Chinese military surplus gun..Overbuilt and a little crude. I made sure the gun was clean and proceeded to put a few pellets through it.



WOW, Penetration tests in a phone book show me this thing has more power than my Powerline 901 and my new Crosman Pumpmaster! I found it shoots a little high if your target is closer than 20yds.I was bouncing an empty soup can all over my yard and having a blast. Enough power to penetrate said steel can with Daisy wadcutters..Impressive! I'm reading that the gun is even better after a thorough cleaning and tune. I might have to get a .22 version next!


214 out of 401 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: R. Conn Date: July 4, 2007
Rating:

Bought a B-3 from Cummins just to see if I could make one shoot well. Out of the box, they are what one should expect for 20 bucks, oily, poor finish and full of metal shavings and rust. I immediately disassembled mine and polished the compression chamber, cleaned out all of the chinese grease, de-burred the rough edges and replaced the nylon piston seal with one I made from aluminum (mine was broken in three pieces). I also moly greased the spring and worked on the trigger as well as re crowned the barrel in my lathe. The barrel had the signature droop, so I straightened it in my press. It chronys at about 610 fps with crosman premier hollowpoints and groups about 1" at 30 yards. For those of you that are wondering what kind of power 600fps has, this rifle will bury pellets to their base into a pine board at 75 measured yards. I plan on changing the mainspring to a stiffer one when the new one arrives and doing a bit more polishing on the trigger sear. I would recommend this air rifle to anyone who wants to do a bit of refining. I would call this a 20 dollar rifle with a 100 dollar potential.


210 out of 414 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Not Recommended
 
By: Sambo Date: June 12, 2007
Rating:

I bought the B3 just because i was running low on cash and could not afford a good gun.
this gun is a piece of poo, one day i was shooting a popcan at 50 yards, the next day the gun was shooting 1 1/2 feet to the right, out of nowhere.just last week the stupid gun just died and is now probably shooting about 350 fps.
DO NOT GET THIS GUN!! These other guys might like the gun now (like I did at first), but in some time it will probably start Konking out like mine did.......plus the finish on the stock is horrible. Its what you would expect for a $20 chinese airgun.


195 out of 413 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Shooter Date: April 17, 2007
Rating:

Cummins Tools B-3! What can I say? A month ago, I paid 20 bucks for a rifle with a slightly bent barrel, that shoots about 1Ē or a little less at 10 yards! I also bought Cummins little break barrel pistol at the same time for another $20.00 to maximize my shipping charges ($10.00 for either just the rife or both the rifle and the pistol). The pistol is gonna take some more work though. But then again, what can you expect from a $20 Chinese gun? Iíll review the pistol in another entry. These Chinese really need to work on their welding jigs so they wonít pull the barrel down. I can weld these perfectly straight, and do it fast too when the jig is set up right. Took the gun apart, stuck it in my press again, same as with my TF 99, and got things back to true within 20 minutes. Had to do this because the sights wouldnít adjust far enough down and to the left to be useable. I also had to chamfer the edges of the chamber with a Dremel to be able to get pellets started. Iíll give this gun 4 up anyway, because of the price, the velocity (Iím getting 660 fps with RWS Hobbies, about 610-620 with Daisy Precisions), and the acceptable accuracy out of the box. The trigger is pretty heavy, but mine breaks clean with not a lot of creep, and if a few things need fixing, I donít mind. After touching up the crown on the barrel and tweaking it straight, my groups with RWS Hobbies shrank to 3/8Ē at 10 yds. and with RWS Meisterkugeln, groups shrank to ľĒ at 10 yds. Not too shabby for an hourís worth of work and 20 bucks, and I havenít even messed with the trigger yet!! Get one!


255 out of 451 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Derek Date: March 16, 2007
Rating:

I own one and i love it!! Its a strong and dependable gun. mine is a .22 cal


211 out of 423 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Cummings Tools Date: February 2, 2007
Rating:

Great rifle for the $20.00 investment. I bought 20 of these and handed them out at Christmas to the entire shop. They were an instant hit. Over two years later the guys are still talking about them. Make sure to check for damage when you pick them up.

Good Luck!


203 out of 416 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: F Nash Date: October 25, 2006
Rating:

I too have owned a B3-F from Cummings Tools for about 15 years. My first pellet rifle. It has been nothing but dependable. It amazes me how accurate it is. I have used different pellets over the years but right now it is best with the JSB pellets. The Straton Point 8.2 gr and the Match 8.26 gr. It shoots in the 560's fps. I don't know how the B3 you would buy today would compare but have been thinging about getting one just to see. At 20 dollars that would be easy to do. I have never had the rifle apart. Just give it a few drops of lubrication whenever I think about it and it keeps going. F Nash


199 out of 402 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: roque Date: July 24, 2006
Rating:

Owned two of thease for 15 years before they broke i used them heavily and often, sturdy and powerful a good buy for the caust.


212 out of 421 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Dallas Mccomas Date: November 10, 2004
Rating:

We bought 3 of these pellet guns from Cummins tools worked great for two years unknown amount of shots, they started to make noise so we sent to them Californias market to have them tuned, all tree came back shooting better then when they were new. Californias Market gave us a new 1 year warranty on all three guns!! This is a great gun and at 20.00 what a deal I highly recommend this Gun


233 out of 474 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


 Add New Reviews| Rifle Review Index | Email Admin | Go Back
 


Airgun Reviews, Airguns, BB Guns, Pellet guns, Air rifles, Crosman 2240, Crosman 2250, Crosman 160, Crosman 1322, Gamo, Walther, Webley, Scott Air Arms, Beretta, Daisy, Benjamin Marauder, 10 Meter target. Crosman
Copyright 2005- 2012 Airgunsmith All rights reserved.