Chinese B4-2

22cal Hercules XS


Add New Reviews | Rifle Review Index | Email Admin | Go Back
 

Average Thumbs




 
By: Date:
Rating:



25 out of 77 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Murena Date: December 23, 2011
Rating:

(B3-1)



Fun cheap gun (35,- eur / 45,- USD shipping inclued).

You must just know what you buy.



Must be disassembly, fitted, controled and rebuid before use.



Accurate but underpowered (9,8 joules / 7,2 Ft Lbs).

Build like a T34. Pretty 40's-50's military look.



A typical "readdy to tune" airgun!




58 out of 114 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: northshot Date: June 12, 2010
Rating:

i find this rifle to be great i dont know why you guys have scope issues i mounted a 20 dollar tasco slid right on behind the factory rear sight can take out bottles at 70 yards all day mines 22 size


100 out of 201 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Sullivan Detroit Mi Date: December 2, 2009
Rating:

I agree,that the B4-2 is pretty good for the $35.00 I payed for it 6yrs ago.Low quality wood work,good quality metal work.I have the .22cal and shoot the heavy pellets so I needed a little more power without using high priced lead free alloy.I figured out how to add 255.2 MORE FPS by making 3 changes to the existing parts inside the gun.The only down side is that its not as quiet,it has that sharp.22cal"cracking"sound. For more detail information E-MAIL- Contact Removed MUST PUT SUBJECT HEADING- AIR GUN POWER


108 out of 230 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: 2RCHA Date: April 17, 2009
Rating:

I own 2 of these sweetheart's, one .177, and a .22. Both have been modded, The .177 came out greater than expected,I Chopped the piston and added my custom seal which gave me an extra .885 in. of sweep, removed the bear trap and cut the trigger housing back to where the bear trap engaged in order for it to cock. Sanded and smoothed down the sear and trigger along with the catch on the piston, made the port smaller 5/32 in. Re did the cocking arm pivots, spaced them with brass tubing, so it took up the play from side to side. Did it in a light mahogany and then a couple of coats of minwax poly.

The good news its pushing 860 fps w/ 10.5gr. Crosman Ultra-Mag's, and over 1000fps w/ 5.2gr. Daisy L/F Field Point's/RWS HVP's, and like most other B-4's its places the pellets where you aim. I have just a couple of things left to do, remove the front and rear sites, grind off the rear site housing and add a weaver scope rail.

These B-4's have to be one of my favorite gun's, for the price and time, there hard to beat.

I didn't do near as much work on my .22, but it still pushes a 14.3 Crosman Field Point out of the barrel @ 625fps, and an 11gr. RWS HVP(Skenco)at just under 800fps which is Great in my book's, It's extremely accurate upward's of 30yd's, and has dropped quite a few "Jack's" dead in their track's. I must say that with both of these gun's, that the ammo you choose is very important. The .177's a Tacker to 40yd's, The .177 just loves Remington Field Point's, while the .22's favourite round is the Diabolo Straton made by CZ Kovohute, which is a little too soft for my liking, but they'll drop a rabbit just as good as any other ammo, just with more head-shot's connecting.These gun's are scoffed at by a lot of people, but as with all "Chinese" hardware a little T.L.C. goes an awful long way. Cheer's, and Happy Huntin', Andy.


115 out of 230 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: SHOOTIN' IRON Date: March 14, 2007
Rating:

PRETTY COOL GUN, LOOKS AND FEELS LIKE A REAL FIREARM. NEEDS THE STOCK REDONE. SANDED IT DOWM, DYED IT WITH BLACK PAINT, WIPED IT DOWN AND THEN CLEARCOATED IT. LOOKS SWEET.

VERY POOR POWER, 420FPS


151 out of 275 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: F Nash Date: October 25, 2006
Rating:

Have had a B4-2 for about two years now. It is very accurate and I get best results with RWS Hobby 11.9 gr gives me 572 fps. Daisy Flat Nose 14 gr are accurate also and don't cost as much as some pellets, they are worth the price. Mentioned earlier was the scope rail. As it comes I agree it is useless. I used several adhesives to try to make it stick and hold, all of which did not work, until!! Go to your local Windshield Install Shop and have them use some of their black windshield adhesive to mount it on your rifle. Make sure the parts are clear of any oily film with some solvent. Will never break loose again. This has lasted for well over a year with no sign of breaking loose. Fellow told me people use it on their hunting rifles to hold the scope in place with never a failure. Getting away from the rifle review aren't I. Well I like it and everything I said about my B3-F in that posting goes for this rifle also. F Nash


177 out of 352 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Ian Date: March 22, 2006
Rating:

I agree that this is a good example of what Chinese imports can do. Mines seems to be more solidly made than my Russian Baikal model 513. The sights are simple but sturdy, and I believe the fixed barrel helps keep this gun more accurate than most under-$60 rifles.

Actually, at these prices we should be amazed that we can hit anything with this gun at 20 yards or more. I'd like to try it further out, but the scope-rail on this gun is useless so it's iron sites only. If the sights can be improved this would be a good camping or field piece for light use and plinking.

- Ian


159 out of 341 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Vince Date: November 18, 2005
Rating:

The B4-2 seems to be the better of the "cheap" Chinese air rifles, with better construction and power than the bottom-of-the-line break-barrels and the B3 underlever.



Mine in .22 does mid-500's with Gamo Match pellets, and is a decent plinker out to about 50 yards or so. The push-button slide-adjusted sight makes it easy to quicky reset the sight for a wide variety of ranges, and the AK47 style front sight provides for a finer adjustment (as well as windage) when necessary. Accuracy is good with the right pellet, but this gun seems to be a little more sensitive to pellet type than some other rifles I've got.



On the down side it's a bit awkward to shoot, with a long trigger reach and a tendency towards a stiff trigger. It's also a bit muzzle heavy.



Mechanical reliability seems pretty good, and it isn't a difficult gun to work on. Interior machining seems better than say, the Norinco Fast Deer. Metal finish on mine was decent, but the wood finish was pretty poor.



Although it's a little more expensive than some of the other rifles (not by much), it is very much worth it. The main caveat has to do with the trigger reach, my wife (for one) finds the Fast Deer much easier to shoot.


198 out of 356 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


 Add New Reviews| Rifle Review Index | Email Admin | Go Back
 


Airgun Reviews, Airguns, BB Guns, Pellet guns, Air rifles, Crosman 2240, Crosman 2250, Crosman 160, Crosman 1322, Gamo, Walther, Webley, Scott Air Arms, Beretta, Daisy, Benjamin Marauder, 10 Meter target. Crosman
Copyright 2005- 2012 Airgunsmith All rights reserved.