Crosman Quest 1000

177 cal


Add New Reviews | Rifle Review Index | Email Admin | Go Back
 

Average Thumbs



Highly Recommended
 
By: kelly j Date: November 4, 2012
Rating:

This rifle is awsome! I if you you think otherwise its because you have no idea what your doing. When you get it out of the box the sights are terrible. Just adjust them and you can get them dead accurate and they will stay that way. the scope is a little bit of a pain to adjust because its really sensitive but this makes it so much more accurate. Just shoot a paper target and adjust it accordingly to were the pellet hits. When using the scope be careful not to bump it to hard and make sure that all the screws are tight. The scope does require small adjustments once in a while. I recommend this gun for hunting and Sharp shooting. This is not a toy and can kill fairly large game for a pellet gun. Rabbits, ratcoons, ect.


54 out of 102 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Dan Date: February 7, 2012
Rating:

I've had this rifle for almost a decade. Its a pretty powerful machine and kicks like my Mimi-14, but could not keep the scope aligned to save my buns. Crosman replaced it, and it still wouldn't keep alignment.



Decided to remove it and use the iron (plastic) sites. What a difference!!! Now I hit whatever I aim at, so not gonna mess with that fool scope again. I put it on my Marlin .22 mag. - works GREAT - love it.



Had a problem with it staying together also. The barrel mount screws keep loosening (Maybe that was a part of my initial alignment problem). Put some loctite on the screws (hope I don't ever need to take it apart).



Then someone mentioned break barrels don't always come back to the same exact place after each cocking - makes sense I guess. However, with both sites mounted on the barrel, it really doesn't matter where it comes back to, but with the scope mounted on the Compression Tube, THAT would be an issue.



Anyway, its one hell of a good deal for the price.



One more note: If you get any oil in the tube behind the pellet or on the back of the pellet, its gonna go BANG - with a puff of smoke, and a hardy, ho-ho silver. I believe they call that dieseling. ;)) Have fun.


91 out of 171 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Not Recommended
 
By: Gravy Davey Date: November 12, 2011
Rating:

DO NOT for any reason buy this gun. My reasons:

1. 6 inch groupings at 20 yards

2. only has 755fps

3. over priced

4. the scope it comes with is worse than the iron sights

5. the iron sights take up the whole field of vision (its like aiming a brick wall)

6. the .177 cal is so small that if you do hit something with it, it won't even flinch

7. makes a ridiculous amount of noise, and your neighbors will call the police

i would rather be stuck with a pointy stick than this gun.


93 out of 206 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: shawn Date: January 9, 2011
Rating:

not real sure yet..it is as loud as my Marlin .22lr off and on...sometimes it cracks and echoes like a rifle, other times just makes the spring noise and isn't real noisy...as far as power??? I have shot old glass soda bottle in the woods at less than 20 feet and it will shatter the bottle but doesn't even go all the way through one side..I'm shooting the crosman premium alloy (non-lead) pellets and have yet to shoot maybe 75 pellets through it...overall, it seems to be nice, haven't had time, waiting for it to warm up to sight in the scope


103 out of 204 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Cadillac Werewolf Date: July 23, 2010
Rating:

Ignore the few bad reviews and look at all the other great ones, look up other sites, look at comparative prices, however you look at it, this is an excellent gun for the money. It says that it shoots at 1000 fps, which I have to take as true since I don't have a chrony, but it is hard, if not impossible, to find a more powerful gun for around $100. I searched MidwayUSA.com and PyramidAir.com and I couldn't find a better deal.

I paid $117 dollars for it, tax an everything, as a Christmas present for myself to replace my venerable chinese air rifle which still shot fairly accurately but was getting tired. I set up some targets in my backyard, sat on a chair and fired. Was I ever surprised! The pellet hit the back wall ricocheted back all the way to the wall behind me and still had enough energy to carry it a foot forward! Hard to believe, but it's true! After finding a suitable pellet stopper (a rusty wheel rim) I no longer had any ricochet problems, even with the Gamo Raptors.

Granted, the reason I bought it was because it had a scope and I was fairly peeved when I found it impossible to aim with the scope. I was similarly annoyed by the fact the stock seems awkward for some reason and it's hard to hold properly, but overall it is a beautiful and simple gun that is exceptionally powerful and a great value, even if I ended up removing the scope it came with.


108 out of 223 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Not Recommended
 
By: Paul Date: June 11, 2010
Rating:

It's all over the target at 25 yds. Company said it will get better. This has not happened. Will not buy another Crosman.


119 out of 257 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Ron Date: September 19, 2009
Rating:

Highly ? at $100 bucks you get a good wood stock,980fps.

but add a good scope & the GRTIII trigger is hard to set-

when it all comes together you have a very Deadly Gun

at30yards. Crosman hollows.


146 out of 301 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Not Recommended
 
By: Jim Date: July 24, 2009
Rating:

Cheap junk. My air rifle broke after just 150 rounds and my freinds after just 100. The guns were also very inacuate at any range and the scope would not stay on point. Unfortunately both of our air rifles broke just after the warentee went out.


130 out of 273 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: george old troutchaser thayer Date: January 16, 2009
Rating:

i love my quest 1000 i got it for myself for christmas my Bday .it shoots very very well. iam 64 years old i like it just as much as the martin 22. it makes as much noise as the 22 but thats OK .

thank you, george old troutchaser carmichael calif. god bless


152 out of 329 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: squirrel hunter Date: May 25, 2008
Rating:

very good, killed squirrel ducks and other little birds. my spring broke after a year but just ordered a new one for about 5 bucks.


139 out of 297 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Dave Date: March 18, 2008
Rating:

Just bought the Quest 1000 and I am very impressed with it's performance. As others have stated, it takes a little while to dial-in the sights, but once done the rifle is highly accurate at 100 yards. The rifle is very loud for the first 10 - 20 shots, then the report drops off dramatically. This rifle is not for small yards as it is very powerful. I set-up some cans on a cinder block about 50 yards away for target practice. One errant shot hit the cinder block and went clear through one side and half-way through the other. I'm extremely sattisfied with my choice of guns.


147 out of 299 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: cya Date: October 2, 2007
Rating:

I bought a Storm XT which I'm told is a Quest with a 3-9x32 scope. I had trouble sighting in the scope, the windage adjustment seemed to work the opposite as indicated. Once I finally got the scope dialed in, I'm amazed on how accurate the gun is. I can hit a golf ball from 30yrds. The 1st couple of shots the gun was really loud but now noise level is what I expected. Ordered a new trigger. Fit and finish, beautiful. Considering a tuning after reading what they can do. Lots of gun for about $100.


162 out of 329 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Not Recommended
 
By: BillyBob Date: September 27, 2007
Rating:

I really tried to like this gun. Nice weight and good balance but poor accuracy from the get go. I installed the GRTIII trigger trying to get it to group well. These guns are known for barrel lock-up problems and apparently this one can't be fixed. Beware and be prepared for poor accuracy with the Quest models, even after extensive work.


174 out of 337 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: John Date: September 18, 2007
Rating:

I bought this gun (Quest 1000X) to kill squirrels that were eating my deck. I've fired 4 rounds and have killed 3 squirrels with open sights at about 25 yards. I have nothing to compare this rifle to since I've never owned an air gun before. To be honest, I really didn't know what to expect in terms of accuracy, but it seems to be okay. My wife gave me a budget of $100, but given that I want to buy a better (?) scope and maybe even have the rifle tuned, she's probably gonna get a bit upset.



I want to get a different scope for it because I'm assuming the one that came with it is merely adequate. Right now I'm considering the Tasco Golden Antler and the Leaper Bug-Buster. Anyone have any comments?


150 out of 316 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Adrian Date: July 2, 2007
Rating:

Great airgun, highquality wood and nice look. My only complaint was the crappy back sight, it keeps wobbeling and i have to keep resighting it.

With Beeman hollow points im getting about 950 fps

Crosman Points 850 fps

Crosman Wadcutter 800 fps

Lasers 990 fps

PBA 1150 fps

I can put a hole through a magpie at 50 yards easily


148 out of 311 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Joe Bailey Date: April 29, 2007
Rating:

Great gun as others have said it is loud. but that quiets down with use.when ya get it DON'T lube it just shoot it. if anything run a dry brass brass brush through it then shoot. My Quest shoots very well with several pellets. I bought the 1000x but it shoots so good with the open sights I can't bring myself to mount the scope.not a great suburb gun Unless you have understanding nieghbors and a solid back stop. but it has stopped the rabbits from eating up my garden. all one shot no doubters


185 out of 360 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Ed Date: March 10, 2007
Rating:

Alsome gun, when shouldered your sights are right up to line, I kill pigeons at 50 yards off my neibors rooves =)


165 out of 344 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Lanyx Date: December 20, 2006
Rating:

Have owned Crosman airguns since Junior High (uh.. 25yrs ago...) and used them mainly for plinking. I have a recent issue of rabbits infesting my yard and can't eliminate them quick enough. They are eating my XMas lights, digging holes in the yard, eating my wife's flowers and bushes and worst of all, leaving rabbit pellets all over the place for my 3 year old to pick up. My 20 year old Crosman pump just isn't powerful enough to take care of business any more. I bought the Quest 1000x .177 and was completely surprised!!



This gun feels as powerful as my .22 rimfire (yes, I know about the weight difference between .177 pellet and .22LR) and unfortunately as loud as it. Accuracy, power, construction, overall, a wonderful gun. Blows through just about anything you point at. This gun is definitely not safe for suburbia and will wake up the neighbors. If you own some property, this would be an amazing rifle for hunting rabbits, squirrels, birds, or other pests.



Unfortunately, I am returning the Quest 1000x to hopefully find another rifle that shoots around 700-800f/s instead and in .22 pellets. For the power that this gun has plus all the noise it makes, I'll shoot my .22 rimfire when appropriate and use something a little quieter around the house.


155 out of 318 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Hawaii Date: September 17, 2006
Rating:

Gun is very Powerful. Will pretty much go through any animal at 100-200 feet. After recoil goes down Gun is OUTstanding and Accurate. Gun is loud, kinda sounds like a real 22. Not to pricy and Great quality.


154 out of 339 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Dan Date: June 21, 2006
Rating:

As with everyone else, after lubing, deburring and changing the seal, this rifle really rocks. A little attention initially will go a long way.



It is relatively easy to take apart and upgrade the parts, but, once done, it it shoots like a dream. Read all you can on some of the forums and do the suggestions.



In my opinion (and a few others) the weak point in this air rifle is the plastic rear spring seat. The piece circles the metal spring guide bar and the main spring rides on top. I would suggest finding an appropriate sized inside and outside diameter washer that fits around the spring bar and inside the piston so that the twisting action of the main spring rides on metal and not plastic. This small improvement makes a major difference in the handling and feel.


177 out of 371 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


 Add New Reviews| Rifle Review Index | Email Admin | Go Back
 


Airgun Reviews, Airguns, BB Guns, Pellet guns, Air rifles, Crosman 2240, Crosman 2250, Crosman 160, Crosman 1322, Gamo, Walther, Webley, Scott Air Arms, Beretta, Daisy, Benjamin Marauder, 10 Meter target. Crosman
Copyright 2005- 2012 Airgunsmith All rights reserved.