Crosman 2200 Magnum



Add New Reviews | Rifle Review Index | Email Admin | Go Back
 

Average Thumbs



Highly Recommended
 
By: Gravy Davey Date: November 6, 2011
Rating:

I got this gun on my 9th or 10th birthday and i had so much fun with it. as a kid I thought it would last for ever, it didn't. when I turned 15 I realized that it wasn't an AK-47 and that I did need to take care of it. I think the sudden change from dropping it into a mudhole to gently placing it onto a pillow at night killed it. I have killed many birds with it, 5 rabbits, 2 tree rats and believe me or not a fawn. Crosman stopped selling them about 15 years ago and now even denies selling them. long story short find one and take descent care of it and it will put food on the table.



p.s. it broke 3 months ago and still killed a rabbit


166 out of 244 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Brian D Date: October 31, 2010
Rating:

I have a Crossman 2200 magnum that I've owed since 1981/82. I think it's a great gun with one exception. The bolt action broke after about 5 years of heavy use so I sent it to the Crossman factory for repair. After getting it back from the factory I put about 10 pellets through it and it broke again. So, I sent it back again and after receiving it back the second time it broke in a little time also. It's been in storage ever since and now that my son is old enough to shoot I wouldn't mind getting it fixed. Anyone had similar problems or any solutions? Are there stronger replacement parts? Does Crossman still have a repair center?


105 out of 204 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Skillet Date: August 3, 2010
Rating:

Mine is a pre-'82 version with the "chromed" receiver and darker, plastic stock.



Looks like a toy, but shoots like a champ! Mine tops-out at abt 12 pumps (not much increase in power after that) and will shoot .22 Hobbies at 650 fps with the aforementioned charge. Groups tight clusters off the bench at 28 yds/open sights.



Not too shabby.



Not the best trigger out-of-the-box. I soldered a 4-40 nut to the side of the sear. Run a 4-40 screw through the nut and it allows you to adjust the trigger pull. A second 'locking' nut keeps the adjustment in place.

A worthwhile improvement, if you are inclined.



A good shooter, don't get suckered into betting against one!



BTW, can be ammo-sensitive, so don't give up on it without experimenting. Mine likes Hobbies and CR Points the best..


101 out of 208 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Calkid Date: January 10, 2008
Rating:

I have owned the 2200 ever since 1983 and it still works like a charm. Its just about ready for an overhaul but it will still be worth it...


117 out of 263 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Andrew Date: January 2, 2008
Rating:

I've shot the Crosman 2200 for years and have found it to be a fun and accurate rifle. Can't beat the price and it stands up to heavy use.


133 out of 257 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: wes Date: June 11, 2007
Rating:

I purchased a 2200 in 1994 and shot the heck out of it until it died 1n 2002. Very accurate to about 30 yards or so.The only thing it had trouble with was woodchucks, but I believe this was an ammo selection problem not the rifle. I never oiled it that's what killed it. I contacted crosman last week to my surprise they have every part in stock to get the rifle to specs at very low prices. Also the 2200 has the most potentional to be a real powerhouse with upgrades requiring very little machining. If you own one you must go to the crosman page on airguninfo.com and try the upgrades you'll be amazed.


132 out of 264 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Blackpowder Bill Date: March 22, 2007
Rating:

Surprised to read about someone unhappy with the Crosman 2200.

I think the contributor needs to have his airgun checked out as 187FPS sounds like a pump seal/valve repair is in order. Btw, check out author James E. House excellent book on American Air Rifles. What are his two most recommended multi-pump air rifles?

They are the Benjamin 392 and the Crosman 2200 Magnum.

Both are single shot .22 cal and they smoke.

Enough said.


151 out of 330 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Not Recommended
 
By: SHOOTIN' IRON Date: March 14, 2007
Rating:

THIS IS THE WORST AND SLOWEST RIFLE I HAVE EVER SEEN. GOES 187FPS. JUNK


155 out of 357 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Keanu K. Date: February 28, 2007
Rating:

In the 1970's I used to go open field varmint hunting here,in the sugar cane fields of Hawaii. I went hunting for the furry 4-legged f-14 called a Mongoose.This Hawaiian weasel runs Lightning fast,and are gone in a blink.I shoot on the fly, and my Crosman 2200 magnum .22 never fails me. This air rifle just feels right and shoots straight.Incredible knockdown power at 20-30 yards and even more accurate when mounted with a 4X Weaver scope.

One shot, one kill.

Recommnend it? You bet, and a heck of a lot of fun.


152 out of 350 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Jeff McDonald Date: September 20, 2006
Rating:

This is a .22 cal. I've had this rifle since ohhh 1980? And I've had tons of fun with it. I had new rings and such put in it 10 years ago or so, and it works as god (maybe better) than new. I think the gunsmith put better than original parts in it. Anyway, it is what it is....a gun that bridges the gap between toy and adult air rifle. It's fairly powerful. Stats said something like 590 fps. That's probably close. I wouldn't know, but I do know that it has always made a nice SMACK when it hit game, and that the game suffered little. It sends beer cans spinning if you hit the rim at 15 yards or so. And it is pretty accurate with a scope. I think I paid like 35 bucks for it. Win win deal. One bad thing, the plastic stock got loose where it connects to the reciever some 10-15 years ago, and there doesn't seem to be a way to tighten it. I don't know if you can still get these, but it you want to buy yourself a fun camping bring along rifle, or get your kid a pellet gun that he'll love, buy one.


170 out of 301 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


 Add New Reviews| Rifle Review Index | Email Admin | Go Back
 


Airgun Reviews, Airguns, BB Guns, Pellet guns, Air rifles, Crosman 2240, Crosman 2250, Crosman 160, Crosman 1322, Gamo, Walther, Webley, Scott Air Arms, Beretta, Daisy, Benjamin Marauder, 10 Meter target. Crosman
Copyright 2005- 2012 Airgunsmith All rights reserved.