Crosman 2100

BBs and 177cal pellets


Add New Reviews | Rifle Review Index | Email Admin | Go Back
 

Average Thumbs



Highly Recommended
 
By: Grand Dad Date: April 1, 2012
Rating:

Have had my Crossman for almost 30 years. Shot more varmints than I can count, crows, oppossums, skunks, feral cats, rats, rattlers and gophers! Taught my daughters, nephews,nieces, grand kids, friends and neighbors to shoot with this little rifle. Thousands of Pellets and BB's through the barrel and all I had to do was keep the plunger oiled! Only complaint as I get older and the eyes have gotten dimmer is that because of the way it's made, (the receiver cover doesn't fit solidly to the barrel) a scope just won't work with this gun. I am finally going to have to break down and spend some money for a more expensive air rifle that I can put a scope on. The crossman gets passed on to a grandson who will hopefully have it and enjoy it for several more years.


94 out of 164 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Leo Date: July 17, 2011
Rating:

I found mine in the trash. The stock was a bit loose, it was missing a screw (I don't worry about it) and it was all rusty.

First thing that I did was test it and it worked!After that, I fixed it up and added a scope. It shoots GREAT! It is so accurate with or without the scope. So accurate that I shot a bird in the head. I would recommend this gun to young kids and adults. It only costs probably $50.00 at Wal-Mart.


119 out of 203 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Leo Date: July 17, 2011
Rating:

I found mine in the trash. The stock was a bit loose, it was missing a screw (I don't worry about it) and it was all rusty.

First thing that I did was test it and it worked!After that, I fixed it up and added a scope. It shoots GREAT! It is so accurate with or without the scope. So accurate that I shot a bird in the head. I would recommend this gun to young kids and adults. It only costs probably $50.00 at Wal-Mart.


83 out of 164 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Kiegmeister Date: September 28, 2009
Rating:

I picked one of thse babies up for ten dollars at a garage sale(best garage sale find ever) . The shoulderstock was a little loose so I took it apart and tightened it up. This gun is a well made gun. A few weeks ago I took up north for some target shooting and plinking along with my Storm xt. It held it's own. I had forgot how well it shoots. My Storm xt has a trigger upgrade but the 2100 was not showing any mercy. There was a beer can that was laying end to end at 145ft. Both rifles shot sweet that day.


114 out of 228 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: corey Date: June 30, 2009
Rating:

My grandfather has had a crosman for over 30 years. It has great power and accuracy.It finally broke when the bb's wouldn't come out but then the seal on the pump broke. But overall it is a very great gun


109 out of 221 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Can Killer Date: January 23, 2009
Rating:

This gun is a great plinker at 30 yds with crosman field tips.


127 out of 289 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Jaymo Date: December 29, 2007
Rating:

I've owned one of these since 1985 and I still love it. It's been a great pumper for many years. I finally wore out the pump cup and had to replace it.


125 out of 268 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Dave Date: December 17, 2007
Rating:

My dad got me this air gun for Christmas back in 1994. I believe he paid $59.99 for it plus tax. I can't imagine how for $60 any airgun could offer more power, accuracy, and dependability.

"YOU WILL NOT FIND ANOTHER $60 AIR GUN THAT GIVES BOTH ENTRY AND EXIT WOUNDS ON CROWS AND SQURRILS AT 20 YARDS..."

I cant comprehend how many backyard critters fell victim to it's wraith and sometimes I wonder if the massive extermination of vermin that I used it for will prevent me from getting into heaven.


125 out of 258 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Tim Date: December 16, 2007
Rating:

I'm 39 yrs old and I owned a Crosman 2100 about 5 years ago. When I was young (15 yrs), my friend owned one of these, but I had a Daisy Powerline 922. I loved that Powerline - accurate and dependable. They don't make the 922 anymore, so I decided to try a Crosman 2100 instead. Similarly built to the 922, the gun performed fine in the department of accuracy and power (although I missed the stopping power of a .22 caliber pellet). However, I was disappointed that within a few months use, the plastic forearm developed a crack from pumping. The Daisy's lever design is much better than the Crosman's. It's not as easy to pump the rifle quitely as it was with the Daisy. Overall, I'll give the 2100 a score of 3, due to the fact that mine may have been a lemon, but I think the Daisy 922 was still a better gun overall. Daisy makes a new version of the 922, which I've considered, but I've read about a lot of quality issues with these. I guess I'll keep looking.


125 out of 246 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Alex Date: February 13, 2006
Rating:

Paid around $50 to $70 for it, honestly cannot remember the price, but it did come with the Crosman 4X scope.

If you are looking for a plinking air rifle I would not reccomend this rifle. It is difficult to load pellets into the breech, a multi-pump and the trigger is on the mushy side with some definite roughness. Something easier to use with a nicer trigger would be better suited for the target/plinking role. Now that I got that out of the way, let me tell you where this beauty really shines.

This is a hunter's airgun, pure and simple. It's lights, points like a dream and carries easily throught the woods (the reciever is slab-sided and narrow, much like a Remington semi rimfire), just make sure to pull back the bolt and leave it open while you carry it. Otherwise the bolt handle will tend to poke your hands if you have big mitts like me. Oh sure, some may whine and say that it's a multi-pump and it takes so long to get it ready to fire, blah blah blah. Whatever, you only get one shot most times, so do yourself and the animal a favor and make it the best shot you can. PRACTICE!!!! Thankfully the 2100 is surprisingly accurate and powerful enough to dispatch squirrel sized game up to 25 yards or so. As long as you are using head shots you'll be fine. I haven't tried any boiler room shots (heart/lung area) but I have no reason to think that it wouldn't work as long as you are using the proper pellet for the job. Box says that it sends a pellet out of the barrel up to 725fps and regardless of what other hunters will tell you, that's plenty good to do the job on a critter's brain. During the past two weeks I have dispatched 6 squirrels with the 2100 and scope set-up. All head shots and all were with Crosman Copperhead Wadcutters. There are some that say the .177 isn't a good choice for hunting. Pah! It's fine as long as you place the pellet in the kill zone. I used to take squirrels with an old Daisy pump (670fps or thereabouts) and only took boiler shots. I used Crosman Copperhead Pointed pellets and had several penetrate both blast through both sides of a squirrel at 35 yards. Now that's a long shot for that rifle and done with open sights. Not bragging about my skill, just that the it's the shooter, not the weapon that brings down the game.

All in all I am starting to really love this rifle. It doesn't have the wood and brass craftsmanship that my .22 Benjamin does. But neither does it have it's bulkiness, truly lousy trigger and strenous pump cycle. Not to mention that as my eyes become even worse with the ravages of time, I need a scope to be most effective. It's a pain in the butt to mount one on a Benji.

The 2100 would be perfect if two things could be addressed. Better trigger pull (a good gunsmith should be able to remedy that) and ease of loading pellets. For the large fingered it becomes somewhat of a crapshoot to load a pellet into the breech. For an air hunter on a budget, you will not be sorry for purchasing this combo.


225 out of 370 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


 Add New Reviews| Rifle Review Index | Email Admin | Go Back
 


Airgun Reviews, Airguns, BB Guns, Pellet guns, Air rifles, Crosman 2240, Crosman 2250, Crosman 160, Crosman 1322, Gamo, Walther, Webley, Scott Air Arms, Beretta, Daisy, Benjamin Marauder, 10 Meter target. Crosman
Copyright 2005- 2012 Airgunsmith All rights reserved.