Daisy Powerline 1200



New Reviews | Pistol Review Index | Email Admin | Go Back
 

Average Thumbs



Highly Recommended
 
By: Rob Date: July 1, 2012
Rating:

Got mine for my Birthday in 1978, my dad took me down to the hardware store and told me to pick out the airgun i wanted, i had a crosman rifle already so i thought id try out the daisy pistol, i loved it then and i still love it today, this is a very powerful gun and unusually accurate for a bb gun (smooth bore), i had a blast with this thing as a kid and i got in trouble one time for accidently shooting out the rear window of a Chevelle that was parked in our driveway (friends of the family), that Incident is what taught me to always treat every gun as though it is loaded, i couldnt sit down for a week.


99 out of 197 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Dan Date: May 9, 2012
Rating:

I got mine for Christmas back in 1978. I found packed away the other day when I was looking for a tool out in my shop. My wife has been having conniptions because a neighbor's cat has been camping out under her bird feeder. This morning, I saw the cat jump up and almost get a bird off the feeder, so I went down in the basement, grabbed the pistol, punctured the CO2 cartridge that has been sitting in it for over 30 years, put a BB in the chamber, and fired. Got the cat right in the hind quarter from about 20 yards! That was about 9 this morning. This afternoon, I racked another BB and fired out over the water. The splash was about 80 feet away, so evidently the seal is still good. Anyway, I was pretty impressed. Shot out a lot of street lights with this gun back in high school!


82 out of 178 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Jim Date: January 19, 2012
Rating:

Mine was my step-fathers, he must have purchased it right when they started to manufacture this model. I have remembered shooting this in our basement when it was raining. Many thousands of bb's have been thru that barrel. I have had some issue with loading over the last year and now it wont load at all. I have taken it apart and could not find anything blocking the path. it looks as if the alignment of the barrel and the loading mechanism does not align to the correct depth to allow the BB to drop. If anyone has a hint or knows who can repair them please let me know (jtohago@yahoo.com) This one has been with us for over 30 years.


124 out of 236 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Ken Date: January 10, 2012
Rating:

I have had mine since about 1978. I recently found it in my shop and cleaned it up but the seal for the CO2 cylinder was not good. I went to the Daisy website and got a phone number to get a free seal. About a week after I called I received 2 free seals in the mail. My pistol works as good as new now!

Thanks, Daisy!!!


114 out of 211 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: nick Date: December 3, 2011
Rating:

my name is nick i am 13 years old and i got my powerline 1200 from my dad because my dad knows i like pellet guns and he found it at the top of his work and brought it home for me and I loaded it up and shot it and it worked perfectly and there are no leakes whatsoever and now its one of my favorite guns and its a great gun



92 out of 157 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Jay Date: August 14, 2011
Rating:

I bought this without my mother knowing from a flea market when was 13 in 1990. I'm now 34 and have a squirrel issue. Then I dug this gun out. I tore it down, oiled up the seals, put it back together in 3 minutes and voila, it shot like it did 20 years ago. Don't have a squirrel problem anymore.


75 out of 174 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: R Slate Date: June 5, 2011
Rating:

had mine over 30 years, son got it out and striped the tighten ring for CO2, would like to buy used gun and use our parts to rebuild. great pistol


93 out of 188 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Ray Date: March 19, 2011
Rating:

Some say the gun doesn't shoot BBs all the time. It has gravity feed and the manual says that you are supposed to hold the muzzle down about 30 degrees from horizontal when cocking it. I've found that to be true.


100 out of 213 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: David Burleson Date: February 8, 2011
Rating:

I have had my old Powerline 1200 for about 25 years now. It had been in an old desk in an old garage for years and had to withstand the elements for years. I found it some time back and brought it in the house. I had just done a total re-build on a Chinese B3, and was very pleased with the result. So I decided to have a go at this old pistol. I couldn't locate a schematic on it at the time, so I carefully dis-assembled it. It is a very simple gun to take apart and there are no heavy springs to be afraid of. There were a total of 4 seals in the gun. Co2 cylinder seal, small o-ring on the removable piercing head, large o-ring at the rear of pressure chamber, and a seal at the discharge end of the pressure chamber which seals against a spring backed ball bearing within the chamber. This seal as well as the o-rings were in perfect shape surprisingly. The only 1 in poor shape was of course the Co2 cylinder seal. I used a Gamo replacement seal that fits my Gamo P-23. These can be ordered from Gamo and it fits the 1200 perfectly. Cleaned the gun, and lubed all seals with silicone grease. I gave both the pressure chamber spring and the cocking lever spring a light coat of Moly paste. I polished what can be called the sear face and sear seat. Lubed trigger group with a moly/30wt mix, and re-assembled the gun. Oh I also did a nice Olive Drab paint job while I had it dis-assembled. The gun functions slightly better than the day I bought it. I remembered this being an extremely hard hitting pistol, and it still is. Around 420 FPS and no leaks whatsoever. I love this old gun am so pleased to have it back to enjoy. Hope this may help some of you out if you have or run across an old Powerline 1200.


154 out of 244 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Jerry H Date: September 15, 2010
Rating:

I enjoy my 1200 but I don't know how to oil the seals and about 3 or 4 out of 10 shots it doesn't discharge a BB. I bought it new in 92


161 out of 278 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Chris Date: August 18, 2010
Rating:

I picked one up used recently but still holding gas. The rear sight is missing. (anyone got a spare or good close-up pictures so I can make my own?) I was pleasantly surprised that it held gas for three straight days. Gave me about 60 nice, STRONG shots. Hardest hitting CO2 BB gun I've shot yet. Without the rear sight my accuracy stinks. But it handles like a nice target pistol and the trigger is light and mostly crisp.


131 out of 229 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Gerald Date: February 14, 2010
Rating:

Of the several air pistols that I own I must say that this is my overall favorite.Although it was my first air pistol,my rating is far from sentimental.It has good power for about the first 80 shots.I never store it with a full or working cylinder.My rear sight is broken off but that is not a problem since I never used it.This gun has such a nice natural grip the use of the sight is absolutely unnecessary.I've owned and used it for well over 20 years.It has to be low maintenance because I don't even keep it oiled.I love this gun.


132 out of 278 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Karl Date: April 2, 2009
Rating:

The 1200 I have was my little brothers. He died about 11 years ago and had not been shot since I don't know when. Loaded it up and it shot great. Accuracy was tremendous and I am a lousy shot. I found it in a metal box. The box is a little beat up but gun in great shape. Was the metal box original. Foam inside is cut perfectly for gun, BB's and air catridges, like is was made for it. Unfortunatetly no paperwork. Interested in anymore info I can get.


182 out of 348 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: chef Date: March 8, 2008
Rating:

I found this little gun in one of my storage boxes from when i was kid, 20 years ago,, took it out, gave the seals a quick lube, put in a c02, and it worked like the first day i got it. its really nice when things like this happen


231 out of 447 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Jaymo Date: December 29, 2007
Rating:

I bought mine in like new condition in the original box for $20.00 at a local pawn shop. It points well and is a fun little BB pistol to shoot. My 8 yr old son has pretty much laid claim to it. He's absolutely nuts about shooting it.


170 out of 431 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Milrose Date: November 25, 2006
Rating:

The Daisy Powerline 1200 is a Single shot, CO2 BB Pistol that was produced from 1977 to 1995. It probably retailed between $29 and $49 (U.S.) new. It is a gravity feed, caliber .177 BB--capacity of 60 BBs, a maximum distance of 253 yards, a velocity of 420 fps (Maintains velocity through 100 plus shots), has a Trigger Pull of 3.25 pounds, 1.9 lbs in weight, uses 12 gm CO2 Cylinders, has plastic grips, and was made in Rogers, Arkansas.



Mine was purchased in the early 1980s but was never used until I rediscovereed it in October, 2006. It has only had about 400 BBs put through it and it holds power through about 80 shots, and will shoot a 1.25", 5-shot group at 10 meters--it might do better but I am not a great marksman. Mine also chronies @ 400 fps.



This is a great, inexpensive shooter if you are into BBs and CO2. They can be found used in all kinds of condition in a range of $20 to $45. In a recent auction one went for $95 plus shipping but the claimed condition was flawless, like new, in original box with all the instructions, manuals, etc.--a collector piece.



A previous reviewer stated that his 1200 ran out of power after a very few shots. It is very likely that his seals need replacement. They deteriorate rapidly from putting the gun away still charged with CO2. In fact, leaving it charged for more than 3 or 4 hours is very hard on the seals. Daisy no longer has parts for the 1200 but seals and other parts might still be available from Jim Coplen,

P.O. Box 7297, Rochester, MN 55903, 507-281-2314.



301 out of 534 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Not Recommended
 
By: t bone Date: January 24, 2006
Rating:

single shot not very user friendly, loses power fast after 1st couple shots


204 out of 451 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


New Reviews | Pistol Review  Index | Email Admin | Go Back
 




Air pistol review, Crosman 2240, Crosman 1322, Gamo, Walther, Beretta, Daisy, Colt

Copyright 2005-2011 www.airgunsmith.com All rights reserved.