Crosman 1600 Powermatic

16 Shots Automatic BB Pistol 1979-1990



New Reviews | Pistol Review Index | Email Admin | Go Back
 

Average Thumbs



Highly Recommended
 
By: Curt Date: October 14, 2011
Rating:

This piece was a gift sometime circa 1977. A few nicks on the left side of the barrel, but otherwise as clean as the day it was new. The box is long gone, but the gun is still sweet. Probably the only good thing to ever come from my ex-wife. :)

Like many, the top seal for the powerlet disintegrated. Crosman still has this seal, used in another model, I forget which. It happens to be the same as a 1/2 inch fawcet washer, but a little thinner. So, I ground down a fawcet washer, ( made a tool to hold it against a high speed wheel ) replaced the seal, and the gun shoots as well as it ever did. If you do your yourself, a little silicon grease is a good idea.

When disassembling, watch the safety ball and spring carefully. It will shoot across the room, never to be seen again, if one isn't careful.


86 out of 181 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful



 
By: Date:
Rating:



80 out of 160 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: greg Date: December 30, 2010
Rating:

can you believe it is 12/30/2010 and I have a story about this gun?



i got mine in 1995, my wife hid it from me because I was pestering squirrels- then I hid from her and have not seen it until this Christmas when my wife and oldest son found where I hid it- in a bucket in the garage underneath and in another bucket where I kept spare practice golf balls.



No one was ever as happy as me when I opened a box on Christmas - and there was my old friend.



Like many of you- it leaks co2- Icalled 2 gunsmiths and they do not work on them- any information would be greatly appreciated.



grcampion@sbcglobal.net


98 out of 176 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Kriegmeister Date: September 28, 2009
Rating:

This gun I have had for a long time(the early 80s)The gun hasn't skipt a beat yet I will do a review of it on Youtube one of these days. I keep it in a guncase to protect it from being scatched. It is in like new cond. Yeh, I take care of my stuff.


153 out of 265 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Doc M Date: June 30, 2008
Rating:

Great little gun, I love the sights, My neighbors Tomcat brings his dates to my backyard, but with this gun I've been able too slow down his egg flow. But, I'm having a problem with the CO2 leaking, any suggestions!!!!!!



Doc M


157 out of 294 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: matt Date: April 12, 2008
Rating:

Well i got this gun in 2000. I say it's a workhorse! I got it to kill squirrels it workred!!! I must say it didn't last though.Every time i put in the Co2 it immediatly all leaks out!!! if any one has any ideas on how to fix it email at ********************* thanx


150 out of 291 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: toad killah Date: February 15, 2008
Rating:

I remember when I first got this gun, I killed so many cane toads here in Hawaii. I just couldn't put the gun down. From sun up to sun down, no toad was safe. I still have the gun, but I have since lost the grips and it requires a little TLC to get back into shape. But one day, it'll hunt again **sigh**


126 out of 252 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Jeremy Date: July 25, 2007
Rating:

I enjoyed the first poster's comments. I have a similar experience and great memories from this gun. I got it when I was about 13 (1990??). I put so many co2 cartridges though it that the metal pistol grip is so warper that the plastic handle will hardly stay on. BUT IT STILL SHOOTS. The bb slide has broken off so I have a tiny brass screw in its place. I made a holster out of duct tape and a cereal box. Used to carry it everywhere in the yard. I always thought the sights were the best on any pistol I have ever shot. I'd like to take the sights off of this gun and put them on the P1 magnum I have.


156 out of 286 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Nick Date: March 31, 2007
Rating:

I received my 1600 Powermatic pistol as a birthday gift from my grandfather in Dec 1979 and used it until an apartment fire took it from me in fall of 1990. For a 12 year old, (short of a Ruger MK.II) it was the ultimate in fun for plinking, target practice, and just creating overall havoc for the creek bottom dwellers. Many a backyard fence post and hay bale target wilted under its assault. The 1600 and my 760 Pumpmaster went everywhere and endured mud, rain, sand, dirt, snow, and every other condition I could put myself and they never gave me a problem. I took care of both and they operated everytime. I still have the 760, though the pump has finally given up, and I will keep it along with the memories. My daughter has been asking for a 760 now, and I think it is about time to get one for her, and maybe a new replacement for me!



As I remember, the 1600's grip was a little large for a 12yo, but it was controllable (I grew into it of course) and reminded me of grandpa's Colt Woodsman, just a bit bigger. It was easy to sight and loading was easy, although it took time. I seem to recall a nice wide, grooved trigger, with pull on the heavy side. Powerlets tucked away into the grip at the butt, out of the way, with a small, slotted, puncturing knob to charge the chamber. BBs were force fed by a spring allowing rapid fire. Powerlets were good for maybe about 30-40 shots before noticeable drops in power. The first 3-4 shots from a fully charged Powerlet were just really cool to witness. If the weather was just right, you would get significant high pressure condensation exiting from the barrel accompanied by what you would swear was a small discharge flame. Super cool for a kid. One draw back, especially in tight spots and holster withdrawl, was the overall length, but the pistol's "Fun to Hassle Ratio" more than made up for it. I only wish this pistol was still available. If I ever find one, I will snatch it up.



Thanks to those responsible for this informative site and for the space to post on a fine air pistol, while allowing me to wax nostalgic.



Happy shooting.


161 out of 294 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Eric Date: December 27, 2006
Rating:

Holds 16-17 bb's in a force feed manner. semi auto. weighs in at 1 lb 13 oz. and its overall length is 11 3/8 in. ramped sight up front and the square notch in the rear. the barrel is 7 3/4 in. and is a smooth steel bore.



the muzzle velocity is 350 fps

averages 80 shots per powerlet


158 out of 323 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


New Reviews | Pistol Review  Index | Email Admin | Go Back
 




Air pistol review, Crosman 2240, Crosman 1322, Gamo, Walther, Beretta, Daisy, Colt

Copyright 2005-2011 www.airgunsmith.com All rights reserved.