Baikal IZH 46M

177cal


New Reviews | Pistol Review Index | Email Admin | Go Back
 

Average Thumbs




 
By: Date:
Rating:



49 out of 101 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: SacTargetShooter Date: May 31, 2012
Rating:

The single-pump pneumatic power plant is quiet, does not require CO2 or a pump, take just a second to pump up, and has no recoil. The accuracy is incredible with JSB Exact Heavy pellets. These pellets fly out at a relatively low speed of 420fps, but they pack a punch even to 15 to 20 yards.



If you shoot at different distances, the JSB Exact Heavy pellets have a ballistic coefficient of 0.027. Use a ballistic calculator to figure out the elevations at different distances. Get a Ultradot Matchdot II dot sight, and you'll be accurate at different distances!



Plan to spend some time to customize the grip. I spent two nights to Dremel mine. My 46M now fits better than any other airguns that I have!


136 out of 271 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: DocHoliday Date: November 21, 2011
Rating:

This IZH 46M is a glutton for bulls eyes!!
The pistol is well made, good machining and finish all around.
The grips are a bit 'clunky', and large.

I have large hands so they fit pretty well, and 15 minutes with my Dremel, and then the grip was very comfortable.
The sights were way off when I first got the gun, but it sighted in well, and then it was hard to miss at 10 meters.
Lots of bulls, and plenty of those little metal squirrels bit the dust with this gun.

This pistol is STILL winning big matches, and for an entry-level match pistol, you can't go wrong - very reasonable cost (in Canada, around $500.00) and simply spectacular accuracy.
It is well worth it - once you start shooting with this one, it will be hard to quit. :]
In my hands, as a novice shooter, the 46M shoots better for me, than my Tau 7.

I should also mention the trigger - verrrry sweet on this one!
.....got to get up pretty early in the morning to beat the 46M.
..... value, quality, performance, design... it's got it all!


186 out of 347 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Recommended
 
By: Skillet Date: September 2, 2010
Rating:

From all of the reviews on this pistol I've read (forums, mostly), I became convinced that with 50-odd airguns already, I could really use just one more!



A really sweet shooter, mine came from the factory already sighted-in. You hear alot from shooters about how great the trigger is. After trying it for myself, I found that there wasn't a liar among them...



Mine seems to really like the Crosman WC ammo and clocks at a consistent 460 fps with these (clocks about like my Tempest did), while chewing the center out of the bullseyes.



I like the fact that the breech opens-up enough to use a bore-snake (safer than the provided cleaning rod, which I'd advise you to throw away).



Grips will need work... I shot mine until my hands began to ache in places, and removed wood wherever the grips dug-in and chafed. Fits my hand perfectly now.



Solid and accurate. Good grasshopper gun with enough power to shoot flat out to moderate plinking ranges.



This purchase made at least half of my other air pistols obsolete! Accurate enough to truly challenge the shooter.



Comes with spare seals. Don't try to fire without the loading block fully closed as the 2 breech seals will fly out, never to be seen again.



Spares can be bought for abt $10 pr. (breech seals). I would rather this gun had a manual safety, but it's intended as a load-and-shoot match gun, so a safety has been omitted.


270 out of 555 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: a41capt Date: January 8, 2010
Rating:

I have to mirror the above comments regarding value for your buck, accuracy, and trigger. While some have reported that the gun is heavy (and I admit it is heavier than some), with the proper training regimen, the weight is more of a positive factor than negative, even when shot in an offhand position.



By wearing a Merrit Iris on my shooting glasses (thereby tightening up my well worn eyes!), I can routinely put 5 pellets into and touching the X-Ring on my NRA 10 Meter Air Pistol target. This says loads for the stock sight package and for an older guy, it makes me out to be a good shooter!


394 out of 731 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: David Date: December 4, 2009
Rating:

I owned this prior to my LP10 Steyr, which cost one thousand dollar less 4 years ago. This IZH is still priced right. I shot great with it and its ideal as a beginner and training Competition air pistol. I regret selling mine b/c it doesn't require an air pump. The price is great and it shoots very nicely. The reason I sold it is that, for serious competition, the lever action and weight of the air pistol will lead to minor fatigue. Still, for plinking and competition practice, this is ideal and highly recommended. I plan to buy one just for plinking. My LP10 is sighted on the 4 ring as required, so changing it every time is inconvinent and time consuming. I'll use this IZH for plinking at center.


329 out of 666 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Jon Becker Date: February 24, 2009
Rating:

just bought it from arizon air guns. I tried more expensive air pistols and found them to shoot well, but not for $1200 or more. Whith 800 rounds through it. It is easily the best air pistol I have owned. You can not get better for the price. My 15 year old son is putting 3 pellets through a bottle cap glued to the target from 25 ft. I have been shooting better every time I pick it up.



It costs me $13 for 500 pellets, beats .22 ammo, no smell, very little noise and I can shoot it in my basement without upsetting my neighbors. BUY IT !!


414 out of 829 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Brushy Bill Date: March 5, 2008
Rating:

I purchased one of these in december of 2000. Started shooting it, and the following April won sharpshooter class at the Indiana state indoor 10 meter match.

These cant be beat!


536 out of 1080 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: ben Date: September 25, 2007
Rating:

I've had this gun for almost 8yrs, trigger is one of the best you will find anywhere that goes for regular firearms as well, I have fond memories of sitting outside the gun shop where i purchased it shooting crickets and cigarette butts in the parkinglot, exceptional accuracy, better than most people can shoot, best offhand group at ten m could be covered by a dime one jagged hole, still my favorite gun to use even after 8 yrs if you want to get into competition shooting without spending 1600 dollars this gun has been used to win competitions around the world, I paid 225 for mine looks like the going rate for this gun nowadays is still under 300, well worth it!!!!!!!!!!!!!


601 out of 1206 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: K Rihanek Date: February 22, 2007
Rating:

I have a Webley Hurricane and have also shot the Gamo Compact (GC). The IZH-46M is worth every penny. The GC was nice but the trigger doesn't come close to the IZH's. The lighter weight of the GC made it easier for me to handle than the IZH. The IZH is large and heavy for a match pistol. Underlever cocking is easy and it has lots of room to load the pellet. It is 100% accurate.


583 out of 1123 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


Highly Recommended
 
By: Stepar Date: January 28, 2007
Rating:

Astonishingly nice trigger, short 1st stage with a well-defined and crisp-breaking second. The grip - well, if you have Sasquatch hands, you will love it. Otherwise, break out the Dremel, or go aftermarket. Overall, fit, finish and very good. I haven't benched it, but off-hand accuracy seems very, very good. Interesting to actually see the pellet fly toward the target - something I am not accustomed to from my springer experience! 4 thumbs only, due to the grip.


603 out of 1167 found this review helpful.
Helpful | Not Helpful


New Reviews | Pistol Review  Index | Email Admin | Go Back
 




Air pistol review, Crosman 2240, Crosman 1322, Gamo, Walther, Beretta, Daisy, Colt

Copyright 2005-2011 www.airgunsmith.com All rights reserved.